A father daughter moment….

I remember one day me and my father went to shop for my brother’s wedding. He wanted to wear a suit in the function.We generally shop for him on our own and try that he doesn’t go alone to far away places. Reason being few years back he got a paralysis attack and since then he is not able to walk properly. Now he walks with the help of a stick. Despite all physical inabilities he is a strong-willed and self-dependent person. He prefers doing his work on his own. But that day he took me with him as he wanted my advice on cloth color and design. We decided to look for the cloth material in Sadar market which is famous for such things. While we were coming back we got to know that a trade fair was organized near Sadar Market only. We looked at each other and bought the tickets for the same. I was holding my father’s hand while we were exploring the stalls. In one of the food stalls my favorite dal bati was getting served. I looked for a place and asked my father to sit there. I bought the Rajasthani thali and mirchi pakoda and sat with my father. While I was relishing the spices of Rajasthan cuisine, I saw tears in his eyes. I asked him why you are crying ?. I felt little embarrassed also. He didn’t say anything at that time. After that we went to a handicraft stalls where in he bought for me and my sister bangles, key chains etc. He also got my sis-in-law and my brother’s name painted on a key chain as a symbol of a new life they were going to start. When we reached home, I told my mother that we went to trade fair. I also complained how my father embarrassed me by crying like that in front of everybody else.
While I was telling my mom about trade fair stalls and promised her to take her also my father said
” Sweety (my nick name), you know why I was crying ?” I looked at him and waited for him to continue. ” I felt very good and at top of the cloud.You remember I use to take you to nauchandi fair when you were a small girl,I used to hold your hand tightly in the fair. In the same way You took care of me today. I am proud to have you as my daughter”.I was speechless. That was a moment of happiness and guilt together.Guilt that I misunderstood him and complained that he cried. Happiness that how much he loves me.
This time I was in tears and I just hugged my father tightly.
That was a father-daughter moment sweetened by “daal baati” spices.

“This father’s day, I am expressing my love towards my dad by participating in the #HugYourDad activity at BlogAdda in association with Vicks.”

Leave a Reply

